We are holding Borough and Parish Elections on 4 May.

Your vote matters, don't lose it. Make sure you are registered to vote and have an accepted form of photo ID to take with you.
Visit our elections pages to find out more or register to vote.

Dates and events for candidate and agents- Elections 2023

We are holding a Borough and Parish election on Thursday 4 May.

If you would like to stand as a Borough or Parish candidate you can request the relevant nomination pack by emailing electionservices@melton.gov.uk and we will send one to you. You can also collect a nomination pack in person from our Parkside Offices (Melton Borough Council, Parkside offices, Station Approach, Burton Street, Melton Mowbray, LE13 1GH).

Key Dates

Candidates and Agents

Event Date
Publication of Notice of Election Wednesday 22 March 2023
Deadline for Receipt of Nominations 4pm Tuesday 4 April 2023
Deadline for Withdrawal of Candidates 4pm Tuesday 4 April 2023
Deadline for Appointment of Election Agents 4pm Wednesday 5 April 2023
Publication of Statement of Persons Nominated 4pm Wednesday 5 April 2023
Publication of Notice of Poll Tuesday 25 April 2023
Deadline for Appointment of Poll & Count Agents Wednesday 26 April 2023
Day of Poll 7am - 10pm Thursday 4 May 2023 
Deadline for Return of Election Expenses (Parish Candidates) Thursday 1 June 2023
Deadline for Return of Election Expenses (Borough Candidates) Friday 9 June 2023 

 

Postal Vote Opening Sessions

All postal vote opening sessions will be held in the council chamber at our offices.

Session  Date and Start Time
Session 1 10am Friday 21 April 2023 
Session 2 10am Wednesday 26 April 2023 
Session 3 10am Thursday 27 April 2023
Session 4 10am Friday 28 April 2023 
Session 5 10am Tuesday 2 May 2023
Session 6 10am Wednesday 3 May 2023 
Session 7 10am Thursday 4 May 2023

If you would like more information on standing as a candidate please see our becoming a councillor information.

Last updated 14 March 2023
Feedback button